Buffy the Vampire Slayer/Angel timeline (tv shows only)


Well-Known Member
Jul 12, 2005
Tampere, Finland
So I watched both Buffy and Angel recently for the first time and wanted to see them in the best possible order so every crossover and reference would make the most sense, but couldn't find a really good guide for it. I found a few different lists but none of them was really what I was looking for, so I did the best I could to watch them chronologically and compiled my own list.

This list is not the broadcast order or any other "official" timeline, but it's my view of how watching the two shows makes the most sense. Following this list, every reference in one show to the other should happen chronologically. What's more, I've minimised the need to jump from one show to the other, so if there's several episodes where there's nothing tying the two shows together, I've listed first all episodes from one show, then the other (case in point: most of Buffy S6/Angel S3).

So, here ya go:

Buffy the Vampire Slayer Seasons 1-3

Buffy the Vampire Slayer 4x01 - 4x02
4x01 The Freshman
4x02 Living Conditions
Angel 1x01 - 1x02
1x01 City of...
1x02 Lonely Hearts
Buffy the Vampire Slayer 4x03
4x03 The Harsh Light of Day
Angel 1x03
1x03 In the Dark
Buffy the Vampire Slayer 4x04 - 4x07
4x04 Fear, Itself
4x05 Beer Bad
4x06 Wild at Heart
4x07 The Initiative
Angel 1x04 - 1x07
1x04 I Fall to Pieces
1x05 Rm w/a Vu
1x06 Sense & Sensitivity
1x07 Bachelor Party
Buffy the Vampire Slayer 4x08
4x08 Pangs
Angel 1x08
1x08 I Will Remember You
Buffy the Vampire Slayer 4x09 - 4x19
4x09 Something Blue
4x10 Hush
4x11 Doomed
4x12 A New Man
4x13 The I in Team
4x14 Goodbye Iowa
4x15 This Year's Girl
4x16 Who Are You?
4x17 Superstar
4x18 Where the Wild Things Are
4x19 New Moon Rising
Angel 1x09 - 1x19
1x09 Hero
1x10 Parting Gifts
1x11 Somnambulist
1x12 Expecting
1x13 She
1x14 I've Got You Under My Skin
1x15 The Prodigal
1x16 The Ring
1x17 Eternity
1x18 Five by Five
1x19 Sanctuary
Buffy the Vampire Slayer 4x20 - 4x22
4x20 The Yoko Factor
4x21 Primeval
4x22 Restless
Angel 1x20 - 1x22
1x20 War Zone
1x21 Blind Date
1x22 To Shanshu in L.A.

Angel 2x01 - 2x06
2x01 Judgment
2x02 Are You Now or Have You Ever Been
2x03 First Impressions
2x04 Untouched
2x05 Dear Boy
2x06 Guise Will Be Guise
Buffy the Vampire Slayer 5x01 - 5x07
5x01 Buffy vs. Dracula
5x02 Real Me
5x03 The Replacement
5x04 Out of My Mind
5x05 No Place Like Home
5x06 Family
5x07 Fool for Love
Angel 2x07
2x07 Darla
Buffy the Vampire Slayer 5x08 - 5x11
5x08 Shadow
5x09 Listening to Fear
5x10 Into the Woods
5x11 Triangle
Angel 2x08 - 2x16
2x08 The Shroud of Rahmon
2x09 The Trial
2x10 Reunion
2x11 Redefinition
2x12 Blood Money
2x13 Happy Anniversary
2x14 The Thin Dead Line
2x15 Reprise
2x16 Epiphany
Buffy the Vampire Slayer 5x12 - 5x17
5x12 Checkpoint
5x13 Blood Ties
5x14 Crush
5x15 I Was Made to Love You
5x16 The Body
5x17 Forever
Angel 2x17 - 2x18
2x17 Disharmony
2x18 Dead End
Buffy the Vampire Slayer 5x18 - 5x22
5x18 Intervention
5x19 Tough Love
5x20 Spiral
5x21 The Weight of the World
5x22 The Gift
Angel 2x19 - 2x22
2x19 Belonging
2x20 Over the Rainbow
2x21 Through the Looking Glass
2x22 There's No Place Like Plrtz Glrb

Angel 3x01 - 3x03
3x01 Heartthrob
3x02 That Vision Thing
3x03 That Old Gang of Mine
Buffy the Vampire Slayer 6x01 - 6x03
6x01 Bargaining, Part 1
6x02 Bargaining, Part 2
6x03 After Life
Angel 3x04
3x04 Carpe Noctem
Buffy the Vampire Slayer 6x04 - 6x05
6x04 Flooded
6x05 Life Serial
Angel 3x05
3x05 Fredless
Buffy the Vampire Slayer 6x06 - 6x22
6x06 All the Way
6x07 Once More, With Feeling
6x08 Tabula Rasa
6x09 Smashed
6x10 Wrecked
6x11 Gone
6x12 Doublemeat Palace
6x13 Dead Things
6x14 Older and Far Away
6x15 As You Were
6x16 Hell's Bells
6x17 Normal Again
6x18 Entropy
6x19 Seeing Red
6x20 Villains
6x21 Two to Go
6x22 Grave
Angel 3x06 - 3x22
3x06 Billy
3x07 Offspring
3x08 Quickening
3x09 Lullaby
3x10 Dad
3x11 Birthday
3x12 Provider
3x13 Waiting in the Wings
3x14 Couplet
3x15 Loyalty
3x16 Sleep Tight
3x17 Forgiving
3x18 Double or Nothing
3x19 The Price
3x20 A New World
3x21 Benediction
3x22 Tomorrow

Buffy the Vampire Slayer 7x01 - 7x06
7x01 Lessons
7x02 Beneath You
7x03 Same Time, Same Place
7x04 Help
7x05 Selfless
7x06 Him
Angel 4x01 - 4x06
4x01 Deep Down
4x02 Ground State
4x03 The House Always Wins
4x04 Slouching Toward Bethlehem
4x05 Supersymmetry
4x06 Spin the Bottle
Buffy the Vampire Slayer 7x07 - 7x16
7x07 Conversations with Dead People
7x08 Sleeper
7x09 Never Leave Me
7x10 Bring on the Night
7x11 Showtime
7x12 Potential
7x13 The Killer in Me
7x14 First Date
7x15 Get It Done
7x16 Storyteller
Angel 4x07 - 4x13
4x07 Apocalypse, Nowish
4x08 Habeas Corpses
4x09 Long Day's Journey
4x10 Awakening
4x11 Soulless
4x12 Calvary
4x13 Salvage
Buffy the Vampire Slayer 7x17
7x17 Lies My Parents Told Me
Angel 4x14 - 4x15
4x14 Release
4x15 Orpheus
Buffy the Vampire Slayer 7x18 - 7x19
7x18 Dirty Girls
7x19 Empty Places
Angel 4x16 - 4x22
4x16 Players
4x17 Inside Out
4x18 Shiny Happy People
4x19 The Magic Bullet
4x20 Sacrifice
4x21 Peace Out
4x22 Home
Buffy the Vampire Slayer 7x20 - 7x22
7x20 Touched
7x21 End of Days
7x22 Chosen

Angel Season 5

Questions and comments are most welcome.

And if someone wants to make a more comprehensive list including the comics (haven't read much of those) and whatever else and use this list as a springing board, go right ahead.
Last edited:

Latest posts