Shonen Jump/Shojo Beat

Seldes Katne

Site mom
As a Youth Services Librarian, I receive occasional sample copies of these two publications. Basically, each features half a dozen installments of on-going manga series. Shojo Beat is apparently aimed at girls, and Shonen Jump at boys. (For example, I have a copy of Shojo Beat that features seven on-going stories: Millenium Snow, Vampire Knights, Crimson Hero, Backstage Prince, Baby and Me, Abolute Friends, and Nana. It also has articles about pop culter, fashion, artist/author interviews, and so on.)

Presumably these two titles belong in a Young Adult section, rather than a children's section of a library. Is anyone familiar with these titles? I'm considering a subscription to both of them. The couple of issues I've seen of each seem acceptable for a public library setting, but I haven't been reading either title on a regular basis. Also, is there a publication like this aimed at younger readers?

I have read Shojun Jump, and it does feature the blood and violence in many manga that anime tends to edit out here in the states.

But, the Shojun Jump at our library is in the Young Adult's section.

Shonen Jump has blood, but since its usually black and white, it isn't as noticeable. They also usually edit out curse words. There's a separate line, called Shonen Jump Advanced, that keeps in cursing.

I read One Piece, Naruto, Shaman King, and Bleach from the main SJ line and Death Note and Eyeshield 21 from the Advanced line. All of which are (usually) pretty good.

Shonen Jump has blood, but since its usually black and white, it isn't as noticeable. They also usually edit out curse words. There's a separate line, called Shonen Jump Advanced, that keeps in cursing.

I read One Piece, Naruto, Shaman King, and Bleach from the main SJ line and Death Note and Eyeshield 21 from the Advanced line. All of which are (usually) pretty good.